Country Payroll Guide USA – Maine

We deliver secure, compliant, accurate and touchless global payroll for USA - Maine.

Get in touch
Maine image

Key Facts

Capital
Augusta
Date format
mm/dd/yyyy
Currency
United States Dollar (USD)
VAT
the standard rate is 5.5%

Contributions

Employers

Unemployment (State)
Unemployment (State) - 0.06% to 5.46%
Unemployment - New Employer (State)
Unemployment - New Employer (State) - 2.31%
FICA Social Security (Federal)
FICA Social Security (Federal) - 6.2% (Maximum taxable wages is 142,800 USD)
FICA Medicare (Federal)
FICA Medicare (Federal) - 1.45% (Maximum taxable wages is 142,800 USD)
FUTA Unemployment (Federal)
FUTA Unemployment (Federal) - 6% (Maximum taxable wages is 7,000 USD)
Total Employment Cost
Total Employment Cost - 13.71% to 19.11%

Employees

FICA Social Security (Federal)
FICA Social Security (Federal) - 6.2% (Maximum taxable wages is 142,800 USD)
FICA Medicare (Federal)
FICA Medicare (Federal) - 1.45% +0.9% tax on over $200k (Maximum taxable wages is 142,800 USD)
FUTA Unemployment (Federal)
FUTA Unemployment (Federal) - 6% (Maximum taxable wages is 7,000 USD)
Total Employee Cost
Total Employee Cost - Up to 14.55%

Minimum Wage

Minimum Wage
The minimum wage in Maine is 12.15 USD per hour.

Payroll

Payroll Cycle
Bi-Monthly
13th Salary

There are no statutory laws on 13th salary.

Income Tax

Single Filers tax rate (Federal) (1)
0 - 9,875 USD - 10%
Single Filers tax rate (Federal) (2)
9,876 - 40,125 USD - 12%
Single Filers tax rate (Federal) (3)
40,126 - 85,525 USD - 22%
Single Filers tax rate (Federal) (4)
85,526 - 163,300 USD - 24%
Single Filers tax rate (Federal) (5)
163,301 - 207,350 USD - 32%
Single Filers tax rate (Federal) (6)
207,350 - 518,400 USD - 35%
Single Filers tax rate (Federal) (7)
Over 518,401 USD - 37%

State Tax (Single Filer)

State Tax (Single Filer) (1)
0 - 22,450 USD - 5.8%
State Tax (Single Filer) (2)
22,450 - 53,150 USD - 6.75%
State Tax (Single Filer) (3)
Over 53,150 USD - 7.15%

State Tax (Couple Filer)

State Tax (Couple Filer) (1)
0 - 44,950 USD - 5.8%
State Tax (Couple Filer) (2)
44,950 - 106,350 USD - 6.75%
State Tax (Couple Filer) (3)
Over 106,350 USD - 7.15%

Working Hours

General Working Hours

40 hours per week, 8 hours per day.

Overtime

150% of the regular pay rate for work in excess of 40 hours per week.

 

Leave

Paid Time Off

Employers with 10 or more employees must provide paid leave based on the employee’s base pay. An employee is entitled to earn up to 40 hours in one year of employment, accruing one hour of paid leave from a single employer for every 40 hours worked.

Accrual of leave begins at the start of employment, but the employer is not required to permit the use of the leave before the employee has been employed for 120 days.

Public Holidays

12 public holidays.

Sick Days

There are no statutory laws on sick leave in the state of Maine, however, an employer may be obligated to follow the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA).

Maternity Leave

Every employee who has been employed by the same employer for 12 consecutive months is entitled to up to 10 work weeks of family medical leave in any two years, unless employed at a permanent work site with fewer than 15 employees.

Paternity Leave

Paternity leave falls under the FMLA.

Parental Leave

Parental leave falls under FMLA.

Other Leave

Not applicable.

Termination

Notice Period

Maine law does not require a formal notice period to terminate an individual employee. Therefore, either party can terminate the employment relationship with no notice.

Severance Pay

Maine labor laws does not require severance unless an employer closes or engages in mass layoff. Severance pay rate is 1 week’s pay for each year of employment.

Probation Period

Six months.

Visa

Employment Visa

The Maine Department of Labor does not issue work visas or conduct certification for employers seeking to bring foreign workers to the United States.